West Ham 2014/2015 – It is not all about winning, it is about personal happiness!

P1110579
If the only measure of success was winning then the third season back in the premiership for West Ham was a failure.

Thankfully, success is a measure that can be broken down into smaller achievable goals including:

  • Not being relegated
  • Finishing in the top half of the table
  • Watching West Ham win in person
  • Having fun
  • Beating Spurs

Unfortunately, the later eluded West Ham this season. The home encounter  (a 1-0 defeat) was action packed with 2 red cards (one apiece) and a rare penalty miss from Mark Noble. 

The Spurs game was one of 3 games during the 2014/2015 season I made to West Ham in person. A grand day out with my son which including a boat trip in Regents Park. 


West Ham then went on a fantastic run reaching the dizzy heights of fourth. Unfortunately, the closest I got to Upton Park during this time was watching the highlights on Match of the Day. 

The next game my son and I watched was the New Years Day match against West Brom. A less action packed 1-1 draw but with a great headed goal from top scorer Diafra Sakho. Another great day out which included a trip on the London Emerites Air Line, a cable car ride across the Thames. 


With the season running out the Stoke game looked like it would be a great chance to see West Ham win in person. However, it was a disappointing performance from West Ham with Stoke equalising deep in injury time to make the score 1-1. There was a corker of a free kick by hammer of the year Aaran Cresswell. My son and I had an another great day out including walking down by the Thames and around The Olympic Stadium (soon to be used for West Ham home games).


West Ham finished a promising season struggling to score goals let alone winning games. Was this season a failure? Absolutely not! The fun my son and I had during our trips to Upton Park were as good as it gets.

It is not all about winning – it is about personal happiness!

Come on you Irons!

About robbyboyofilms

I am a keen videographer and I have 3 HD video cameras and 2 camera with HD video capability. A Canon HV20, Sony CX130, Sony FX1, Canon 550D and a GoPro Hero2. I have 2 Rode video mics (a directional mic and a stereo mic) and a host of accessories. I use Sony Vegas to edit and create DVD's and blurays.  I mostly video my kids Stagecoach theatre shows and distribute copies to the students.  Plus I do the obligatory family home movies and occasional short film. I have set up this blog to monitor my progress and thought process.  I am from Llanelli in South Wales and have ended up as an IT consultant living in Oxfordshire. Happily married with 2 lovely children. View and subscribe to my videos on YouTube.
Video | This entry was posted in West Ham and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

