Destination Bicester (an interview with Councillor James Porter)

20121027-221012.jpg

One of the reasons I started this blog was to document my process to make a documentary film about Bicester. I soon realised that making a documentary needed lots of planning and a theme to keep it exciting. After I made a short film of the early days of the town development I thought it would be easier to make a number of short films rather than 1 big one, with the central theme of “Destination Bicester”. As I am only doing this as a hobby and can not dedicate the amount of time a big film needs this seemed the best way to have fun and experiment.

On Thursday 29th March 2012 I turned up to Garth House Bicester to interview Councillor James Porter. This was my first ever interview and I was very nervous. I unpacked my gear, found the best location for my 3 cameras and set up my diffuser light boxes. The interview lasted 30 minutes and the preparation I had done seemed to work well. I had a few technical problems with a microphone and I didn’t angle 2 of the cameras as well as I would have liked. I was more nervous of the interview rather than worrying about the technical aspects. If I had the luxury of more than me doing everything then I would have been able to focus on either the interview or the filming. That’s the fun and frustration of doing it on your own.

I quickly edited the footage into sizeable sound bites, but I didn’t know what to mix the footage with. Should I mix it with other interviews/clips of Bicester/do a narration – I struggled to think what to do. I had planned to interview other Bicester figures but I didn’t get any other offers.

After the summer holidays had passed I decided that I should just use the interview and cut it into one monologue with simple cuts between the 3 cameras and make it look like one long piece to camera.

I have uploaded to YouTube and I will publicise to Bicester officials in the coming weeks.

20121027-221036.jpg

About robbyboyofilms

I am a keen videographer and I have 3 HD video cameras and 2 camera with HD video capability. A Canon HV20, Sony CX130, Sony FX1, Canon 550D and a GoPro Hero2. I have 2 Rode video mics (a directional mic and a stereo mic) and a host of accessories. I use Sony Vegas to edit and create DVD's and blurays.  I mostly video my kids Stagecoach theatre shows and distribute copies to the students.  Plus I do the obligatory family home movies and occasional short film. I have set up this blog to monitor my progress and thought process.  I am from Llanelli in South Wales and have ended up as an IT consultant living in Oxfordshire. Happily married with 2 lovely children. View and subscribe to my videos on YouTube.
This entry was posted in Destination Bicester and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

