5 camera set up for Stagecoach outside performance

If the weather holds Stagecoach Bicester to perform Beauty and the Beast on the outside stage area (back right of the following image) a week on Saturday:

20120619-183012.jpg

The last 5 productions I have filmed for Stagecoach Bicester I have added an extra camera to the setup every time. The first multi camera set up I did was last year (2 cameras) for the Spring 2011 performance, followed by a 3 camera set up at Christmas for Hairspray and a 4 camera set up at the Spring 2012 performance. Since Easter I have sold 1 camera and bought 2 new ones. The Sony HC1 was sold (HDV camera) and I have upgraded my DSLR to a camera with high def video recording (Canon 550D) plus a GoPro camera for extreme uses (underwater, roller coasters, etc.). So how to use the 5 cameras? I have already thought about the settings (the only change to that is to use 50i if the cameras allows and 50p otherwise), to create DVDs (576i) and Blurays (1080i). The cameras to be set up with 2 on the left flank (FX1 and 550D), GoPro front centre, 1 camera right flank (CX130) and 1 camera back centre (HV20 with a 35mm adaptor). Also looking to have 2 additional camera operators to ensure the cameras are in frame.

I have also rebuilt my PC to install Windows 7 – still with Sony Vegas to edit and create disc copies. Stagecoach Bicester are performing Beauty and the Beast on an school outside stage on Saturday week and MADD at Waddesdon on Sunday week. I will create one disk with both productions and look to distribute in September.

MADD at Waddesdon

About robbyboyofilms

I am a keen videographer and I have 3 HD video cameras and 2 camera with HD video capability. A Canon HV20, Sony CX130, Sony FX1, Canon 550D and a GoPro Hero2. I have 2 Rode video mics (a directional mic and a stereo mic) and a host of accessories. I use Sony Vegas to edit and create DVD's and blurays.  I mostly video my kids Stagecoach theatre shows and distribute copies to the students.  Plus I do the obligatory family home movies and occasional short film. I have set up this blog to monitor my progress and thought process.  I am from Llanelli in South Wales and have ended up as an IT consultant living in Oxfordshire. Happily married with 2 lovely children. View and subscribe to my videos on YouTube.
This entry was posted in Stagecoach Bicester Summer Show 2012 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

