Image stabilisation

I have tried to make all my video footage to be as steady as possible and minimise panning and zooming mid shot. Most of the time I hand hold my camera using simple techniques like holding close to my body, using two hands and leaning against steady items like a wall. When I can I use a tripod but this limits the shots and is best suited for static shooting.

I bought a Sony handycam last year that has an amazing optical/digital stabilisation – some walking shots look like I am using a dolly or steadycam. I have 3 other HD cameras that don’t perform that well that I use for more formal shooting and on reflection my attempts to keep still could be improved. I was thinking of getting a steadycam that has balancing weights but all the reviews state how difficult they are to balance. I was not thinking of spending a lot of money and wanted something that was easy to carry, set up and use. I have also been considering the Canon 5D mark II for its film like capabilities and read that it has no inbuilt steadycam and most film makers either use expensive steadycams or specially adapted rigs.

While searching Amazon I came across a rig designed for both DSLR and DV cameras for £50 that has a number of configurations and folds away very neatly. I ordered one this morning and I will update this post when I have had chance to use it.

About robbyboyofilms

I am a keen videographer and I have 3 HD video cameras and 2 camera with HD video capability. A Canon HV20, Sony CX130, Sony FX1, Canon 550D and a GoPro Hero2. I have 2 Rode video mics (a directional mic and a stereo mic) and a host of accessories. I use Sony Vegas to edit and create DVD's and blurays.  I mostly video my kids Stagecoach theatre shows and distribute copies to the students.  Plus I do the obligatory family home movies and occasional short film. I have set up this blog to monitor my progress and thought process.  I am from Llanelli in South Wales and have ended up as an IT consultant living in Oxfordshire. Happily married with 2 lovely children. View and subscribe to my videos on YouTube.
This entry was posted in Equipment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Reply

